Observed 9 September 2026. Bounded continuation selected by the latest forest review. This adds a published selection mechanism, fiscal-trustee authority, one member's disclosed financial participation, and an identifiable Mannifera-funded HRLC policy output. It does not establish how any individual voted on the HRLC grant or that its promised common expert position was formally agreed.
The distinction that matters is between three decisions: choosing a project for collective support, authorising a charitable grant from the hosted pool, and endorsing particular policy recommendations. The documents allocate the first two functions; the report and subsequent advocacy show policy production, while collective endorsement remains unresolved.
Selection and money custody
Mannifera's Membership Guide places membership contributions into an Australian Communities Foundation (ACF) sub-fund and pooled fund. It describes a formal enabling partnership with Philanthropy Australia, ACF and Reichstein Foundation, and a member Taskforce plus Executive Officer. Members commit to at least $65,000 annually for three years. This is a published membership model, not a receipt showing every member paid that minimum in 2024. [Membership Guide](http[local research file] physical PDF pp7–8, printed governance/joining spreads; relevant passages read in the preceding funding pass and reused here. No publication date is inferred from its URL.
The Granting Guide provides the actual staged process. The Executive Officer handles enquiries and assesses proposals; up to six collective members recommend a shortlist; the Taskforce endorses that shortlist; voting members decide by consensus at the annual Muster. Interests are recorded and assessed for conflicts or management. Criteria include strategic fit, a credible theory of change, political opportunity, an appropriate team/coalition and charity eligibility. It explicitly supports legal reform, inside-track advocacy and coalition building. However, the guide contains a 2023 timetable, despite its 2024 URL path. It establishes published historical procedure, not proof that every step was followed for the special 2024 round. It does not specify an automatic recusal rule or document anyone's particular vote. [Granting Guide](http[local research file] PDF pp6–8, particularly printed pp10–11, stages 1–5 and 2023 timeline; pp8–9 assessment criteria.
The current approach page calls the governing body a rotating member Board alongside the Executive Officer and says members have equal opportunity to influence strategy and grants. That terminology differs from the older Taskforce guide; it is not, by itself, proof of a newly incorporated legal entity or a precise governance-change date. Nor does equal opportunity alone establish equal votes. [Current governance description](http[local research file] Governance paragraph, rendered lines 81–83.
ACF's current FAQ identifies Australian Communities Foundation Limited as trustee. Named funds are management accounts rather than separate legal entities; donors request grants, but the trustee must approve them. The FAQ describes a practice of actioning requests unless a legal obstacle exists, while explicitly declining to guarantee donor directions. This shows practical donor influence alongside retained legal responsibility. [ACF FAQ](http[local research file] questions on named funds, trustee identity and donor choice, lines 78–95, 118–119, 153–155.
The public ACF establishment template identifies the trustee's ABN 20 077 830 347. Section 12 says gifts join the trust assets; the trustee need not follow preferences and may grant without asking first. Advisory committees can only recommend grants to ACF's board. These are substantial retained powers in a public template, not an acquired Mannifera-signed agreement. The exact underlying ACF trust and any negotiated Mannifera arrangements remain unidentified. [Sub-fund establishment form](http[local research file] PDF p1, p3 section 5(iii), p8 section 12. The dated URL is not treated as a verified execution or publication date.
One concrete member-money example is The Myer Foundation. Its FY24 report lists a three-year $165,000 Mannifera membership award, approved FY2022 and labelled membership 2021–2024, with a dash under commitment from FY24. Separate FY24 entries are $5,000 general operating support in Directors' Grants and $9,100 general operating support through its Family Grants Program. These are recorded values/commitments, not demonstrated cash payments; the old membership award is not a new $165,000 FY24 commitment. The report names Jemima Myer as the Foundation's Mannifera representative and a Mannifera board member. No HRLC earmark or individual vote follows. Currency is printed as dollars in Australian context, without a currency code. [The Myer Foundation FY24 report](http[local research file] PDF p4 Directors' Grants, p8 Family Grants, p9 representation biography. Only these scoped entries were examined; a separate official annual-reports landing-page route failed and was not retried.
The 2024 round and HRLC's intended role
Mannifera's Executive Officer describes a dedicated open round following the 2023 Voice referendum, selecting seven organisations and providing $370,000 with an unnamed outside co-funder. It names $60,000 awarded to HRLC to align legal/technical experts and equip advocates with a shared reform position. Reset's $40,000 was for transparency advocacy, with HRLC and Digital Rights Watch identified as partners. This establishes a deliberately complementary programme rather than a connection inferred solely from shared donors. The unnamed co-funder's amount, payment date and influence are not disclosed; no share is assigned to Myer or any other member. [Executive Officer's round account](http[local research file] lines 13–16 and 27–32. The body supplies context but no visible precise publication date; award amounts are not bank receipts.
The standing partner record labels HRLC's award a 2024 Signature Grant, connects it to misinformation, Online Safety Act and privacy reform opportunities, and distinguishes older grants. That supports a 2024 award-purpose relation, not the assertion that a particular unpublished expert agreement was completed. [HRLC partner entry](http[local research file] Human Rights Law Centre—Disinformation section.
What is actually identifiable as an output
Rights-First: Principles for Digital Platform Regulation is authored by David Mejia-Canales and dated 4 October 2024. It expressly acknowledges a Mannifera grant. Named assistance includes Jackie Turner and the Australian Conservation Foundation, which is distinct from the fiscal host Australian Communities Foundation. Its main proposals combine a legal platform duty with human-rights constraints, limited removal powers, user data control and court oversight. Crucially, it attributes views to the authors and says they need not reflect HRLC, affiliates or supporters. It is a funded policy output, not an endorsement register. The acknowledgment does not identify the grant number, amount or budget line; assigning the whole $60,000 award to this report would go beyond it. [Rights-First PDF](http[local research file] physical PDF pp2–3, printed pp2–5, acknowledgment/author statement and executive summary. No substantive audit of all legal reasoning was undertaken.
The disclaimer does not erase HRLC's subsequent institutional advocacy. Its public launch page, labelled 7 October 2024, calls for an independent rule-setting regulator, legislated duty, rights assessment and substantial penalties. It thus provides a recipient-level policy position. It still does not turn other consultees, the donor or every coalition partner into signatories. [HRLC launch](http[local research file] dated heading and recommendations, read through the indexed primary page.
An HRLC update labelled 8 October 2024 says Mejia-Canales represented it at Parliament House and met with the Albanese Government. Its URL contains a different 2025 date string, so the displayed date and URL must not be silently conflated. The account establishes HRLC's report of engagement, not an independently acquired meeting minute or government acceptance of each recommendation. [HRLC parliamentary-engagement update](http[local research file] lines 40–49.
HRLC's 2024–25 annual report says the publication was followed by parliamentary lobbying and claims its intervention helped secure the November 2024 duty commitment. This is participant attribution, not independent causal proof. Its stated preference for a duty over blanket youth social-media bans also limits any claim that this advocacy endorsed every age restriction. The donor section lists Mannifera among donations/grant payments received during 1 July 2024–30 June 2025; the visual amount-band mapping was not verified here, so no exact receipt is inferred. [HRLC Annual Report 2024–25](http[local research file] p38 and p66. The amount, period and restriction of the 2024 grant still need reconciliation.
Mannifera's 2025 impact account names HRLC, Australian Democracy Network and Reset as misinformation-bill advocates, reports collective advocacy, and describes interest in a digital duty. It also admits the misinformation bill did not proceed. Its claims of securing amendments and increasing parliamentary support are retrospective funder/partner assessments; no amendment number or independent counterfactual is supplied in the passage. The report further describes networking, communications and convening support. None identifies a signed common platform spanning every funded group. [Mannifera Impact Report 2025](http[local research file] PDF p5/printed pp6–7 and PDF p8/printed p12. The strategy-coordination passage on the following physical page concerns another funding area and is not transferred into this digital-reform claim.
Record-to-decision conclusion
The supported chain is: a member contributes or commits to the pool; Mannifera's published process selects aligned projects; ACF retains grant authority under its general arrangements; an HRLC publication credits Mannifera and articulates a regulatory position; HRLC reports taking that work to Parliament. The actual 2024 selection file, grant contract and coalition endorsement record are separate missing links. No single member's control of the project, common donor instruction over report text, or government adoption of all recommendations has been established.
The narrow next records are the special-round assessment/shortlist and conflict-management record; the Mannifera–ACF executed arrangement and HRLC approval/grant letter; and HRLC's expert-convening agenda, participant list, agreed statement/version history and grant-completion report. Those would distinguish a jointly endorsed reform position from a named author's funded framework and later compatible advocacy. Likely custodians are Mannifera/ACF for selection and grants, and HRLC for the convening and output. No request has been sent.
This pass stops at that decision breakpoint for the root forest review. Public pages and scoped reader extracts were used; no original PDFs or hashes are retained in this single-file lane. Search results about other causes, member biographies and unrelated coalitions were not treated as this project's evidence. Butterfield, ACNC, account access and outreach remain outside this run.