International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US) → was named as a sponsor of → California AB1043, Digital Age Assurance Act
2025-04-22
Official April22,2025 analysis identifies sponsor of the then-current proposal.
Money. Identity. Technology.
Follow the money. Find the decision.
Interpretation, with tests
These are competing explanations considered during the investigation. Read the supporting evidence alongside the challenges; a useful model must account for both.
A common funding or governance centre sets consequential decisions across the separate AI, age-policy and payment campaigns. This remains an attributed investigation hypothesis; the acquired cross-sector record does not establish it.
Working assessment: Still open
Alternative explanation: Multiple autonomous initiatives use shared funders, talent and infrastructure; some local contracts convey specific approval rights.
A useful next test: Compare named output instructions and project-specific allocations. New local budget rights, credited Oak input, coalition participation rules and legislative uptake do not establish a common direction across the separate campaigns.
International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US) → was named as a sponsor of → California AB1043, Digital Age Assurance Act
2025-04-22
Official April22,2025 analysis identifies sponsor of the then-current proposal.
PayPal → grant enables → ICMEC Asia-Pacific Financial Coalition country roundtables
Historical programme since2013; grant date undisclosed
Reported by the cited source
No amount or age-policy earmark disclosed.
Lightcone Foundation → related party grant received → Future of Life Institute
FY2025
Separate entity from Europe; no tracing to particular historical donation
Financial details: value: 45,197,838; currency: USD; kind: grant receipt; period: FY2025
What remains unestablished: Separate entity from Europe; no tracing to particular historical donation
FLI executive director role in 2025 audit → audit reports overlapping board service → Lightcone Foundation
2025 audit issued 16 June 2026; appointment interval unspecified
Note6 refers to the Institute's current Executive Director without naming the person. This is shared board service, not an inferred appointment right or command.
Buffy Wicks → chooses alternative clarification → California AB1856
2026-04-21
Reported by the cited source
Generally applicable treatment of conflicting age evidence instead of family-account carveout.
Frame Fellowship → creator acknowledges grant support for output → The Dark Philosophy Driving AI Development
Video published2026-05-08; description captured2026-09-08; grant dates not stated
Creator names this supporter and says funders had no editorial control. No agreement, payment date, value or disbursement proof. Do not call three independent confirmations: all edges derive from one creator statement.
Australian age-assurance trial → reported amending methodology in response to stakeholder concerns → Trial methodology and safeguard revisions
Retrospective final-report account,2025.
Reported by the cited source
Final table reports revisions and limits; it does not supply the before/after approved versions.
Some apparent coordination arises through selecting aligned communicators and voluntary collaboration. The record supports this as an operating model in parts of the creator ecosystem, alongside separately specified production contracts.
Working assessment: Supported within the examples examined
Alternative explanation: A named advertiser or donor exercises contract-specific approval beyond selection.
A useful next test: Compare a specific Future Tense grant letter and Frame placement agreement with the published output and revision history.
Frame selection committee → Selection authority reported → Frame Fellowship
Second cohort; observed 2026-09-08
Reported by the cited source
Mozie explicitly assigns acceptance decisions to Frame's committee. Committee names and rubric were not recovered.
Future of Life Institute → creator acknowledges grant support for output → The Dark Philosophy Driving AI Development
Video published2026-05-08; description captured2026-09-08; grant dates not stated
Creator names this supporter and says funders had no editorial control. No agreement, payment date, value or disbursement proof. Do not call three independent confirmations: all edges derive from one creator statement.
Frame Fellowship → creator acknowledges grant support for output → The Dark Philosophy Driving AI Development
Video published2026-05-08; description captured2026-09-08; grant dates not stated
Creator names this supporter and says funders had no editorial control. No agreement, payment date, value or disbursement proof. Do not call three independent confirmations: all edges derive from one creator statement.
ControlAI → jointly acknowledged published video collaboration → Rational Animations
Output2May2025, partner announcement3May2025; descriptions captured8Sep2026
Specific output0bnxF9YfyFI names ControlAI and links its political-mobilization tools. Cash amount, script authority and actual contracting entity unresolved.
ControlAI → Briefing and script drafting/review → ControlAI creator partnerships
Posting read 2026-09-05
Employer posting describes partner recruitment, briefings and script work focused on extinction risk. £60k–£80k salary is advertised employee pay, not creator fees.
People First Marketing, Inc. → publishes general creator contract terms → People First general influencer terms, capture 8 September 2026
Current public version captured2026-09-08; historical applicability unknown
Terms name the corporation and offer approval, compliance and conditional payment rules. Campaign-specific SOW can override; no accepted SOW found.
Providers of production money, payment access or technical interfaces can shape choices through eligibility and approval conditions. Exercised constraints are reported in the games-payment case; creator terms and proposed age interfaces show distinct capacities, not one universal command.
Working assessment: Supported within the examples examined
Alternative explanation: An upstream actor gave a campaign-specific directive; the refusal was not merely distributed risk interpretation.
A useful next test: Obtain Valve's dated processor/acquirer instruction chain and the exact governing account terms; distinguish network rule from downstream interpretation.
ICMEC device-based age-assurance technical whitepaper → proposes OS review and approval of website API integrations → Proposed OS-provider approval of website age-API integrations
Observed 2026-09-08
The proposed process makes approval a prerequisite to receiving age data. This is a design proposal.
Windows age-signals APIs → requires a signed-in user session with → Microsoft-account session
Observed 2026-09-08
The documented platform requires Microsoft-account context and registered application identity. This does not identify the proof method.
Steam payment processors · unidentified → reportedly cited Rule 5.12.7 after rejecting Valve's response → Steam
Valve statement August 1, 2025; upstream notice date not specified.
Reported by the cited source
Valve told the recipient journalist that its processors rejected a legal-content-only response and cited Mastercard's brand-risk rule.
Operational payment eligibility and threat of payment-method loss.
Steam → said it retired games to preserve payment methods → Steam July 2025 game retirements
Retirements reported by Valve July 17, 2025; individual game decision dates not reconstructed.
Reported by the cited source
Valve said it withdrew affected games and notified developers, offering app credits for future titles, to avoid losing methods used for other purchases.
People First Marketing, Inc. → publishes general creator contract terms → People First general influencer terms, capture 8 September 2026
Current public version captured2026-09-08; historical applicability unknown
Terms name the corporation and offer approval, compliance and conditional payment rules. Campaign-specific SOW can override; no accepted SOW found.
Stichting The WePROTECT Global Alliance → requires prior written approval for spending outside annual budget → WePROTECT Global Alliance Limited
Agreement 2021 disclosed in 2023 accounts
Disclosure of 2021 subgrant terms; yearly UK budget submitted to the Stichting. Executed agreement and actual exception decisions not obtained.
Stichting The WePROTECT Global Alliance → may deduct underspend from a later annual grant → WePROTECT Global Alliance Limited
Agreement 2021 disclosed in 2023 accounts
Discretionary adjustment disclosed at p15, not a proved sanction or repayment event.
ICMEC Australia → sets participation and guides projects → SaferAI for Children
Circulated January2026
Terms assign ICMEC Australia membership/partnership determination and project guidance in collaboration with members; removal discretion applies to listed breaches. This is formal capacity, not proof of a particular exercised publication veto.
Scaling AI Safety for a Multi-Agent World → offers optional differentiated funding route → Google.org optional funding route
Applicants may opt out while remaining eligible for Schmidt, ARIA and CAIF. No executed or paid grant established.
Google.org optional funding route → conditions prospective awards on openness and AI Principles → Scaling AI Safety for a Multi-Agent World
Google route: Apache2.0 code/inventions, CC-BY4.0 specified IP within3months, public-domain residual IP, no patents and open data subject to privacy law. Edition/dispute rights unknown. Does not bind every partner award.
Schmidt Sciences → describes progress-dependent annual funding → Scaling AI Safety for a Multi-Agent World
Later years depend on progress/reporting; no guaranteed renewal or demonstrated clawback of paid funds. Call-specific duration1-2years governs over generic FAQ wording.
Australia digital duty of care — exposure draft → would delegate specified scope and harm-category rules → Australian communications minister — statutory role
Sections25A-G and27B: exemptions, specified additions and empowerment tools. Advice requirements vary;27B does not list every power. Thresholds constrain general serious-harm additions. Future instruments not acquired.
Mastercard → Denied directing game restrictions → Mastercard gaming statement
2025-08-01
Reported by the cited source
Mastercard's published response denies evaluating games or requiring restrictions on game platforms. This does not identify the downstream decision-maker.
Frame Fellowship → creator acknowledges grant support for output → The Dark Philosophy Driving AI Development
Video published2026-05-08; description captured2026-09-08; grant dates not stated
Creator names this supporter and says funders had no editorial control. No agreement, payment date, value or disbursement proof. Do not call three independent confirmations: all edges derive from one creator statement.
Policy and evaluation outcomes are negotiated among actors with different interests. The acquired California analyses and Australian minutes document revisions, objections and differentiated review access; influence is neither absent nor uniformly successful.
Working assessment: Supported within the examples examined
Alternative explanation: Nominal consultation leaves the substantive design controlled by an actor insulated from challenge.
A useful next test: Compare the operative Australian role restriction with assignment and review signoffs; obtain the MPA memorandum explicitly referenced by the California committee.
Buffy Wicks → agrees scope narrowing → California AB1043, Digital Age Assurance Act
2025-07-15
Reported by the cited source
Online service/product/feature removal followed stakeholder concerns; proposer names not established.
Motion Picture Association → requests design changes → California AB1856
April6 version / April21 analysis2026
Reported by the cited source
Family-account carveout and developer-requested blocking of minors; underlying memo not acquired.
Buffy Wicks → chooses alternative clarification → California AB1856
2026-04-21
Reported by the cited source
Generally applicable treatment of conflicting age evidence instead of family-account carveout.
Trial stakeholder advisory board → recorded objections on sampling, safeguarding and circumvention → Australian age-assurance trial
Cover March13; meeting-header February date conflicts with DIGI's March14 reference. Exact event day unresolved.
March minutes preserve substantive challenge and assigned follow-up actions.
Australian age-assurance trial → reported amending methodology in response to stakeholder concerns → Trial methodology and safeguard revisions
Retrospective final-report account,2025.
Reported by the cited source
Final table reports revisions and limits; it does not supply the before/after approved versions.
Beeban Kidron → asked to retain under-18 coverage; reported amendment work → Anthony Portantino
2022-08-03
Her own account of work with her team and bill authors after feedback; no authority to direct legislator or funding-source inference.
AB2273 coalition letter · 10June2022 → distinctive passages reproduced as arguments in support → AB2273 Assembly concurrence analysis · 30Aug2022
2022-06-10 letter;2022-08-30 analysis
Letterp1 and analysisp4. Four matching normalized blocks of59/47/40/34words; receipt5rights-text-comparison.json. Uptake as attributed advocacy, not endorsement or independent verification of statistics; intermediary text reuse possible.
International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US) → presentation prompted drafting request → Virginia device-age draft request
November6 to December3,2024
JCOTS itself records this causal connection. This closes a specific advocacy-to-drafting step; authorship of all eventual language and funding remain unresolved.
SB813 earlier MRO role —2025 → earlier certification framework superseded in enrolled text → California SB813 — enacted September 2026
2026-09-01 – 2026-09-01
Final audit may be relevant but not conclusive; neither affirmative defense nor rebuttable presumption survives. No causal attribution for each deletion.
California SB813 — enacted September 2026 → Preserves ability to operate without this audit route → SB813 assessed developer/deployer/operator
Event or period: 2026-09-09; checked 13 September 2026
Section8898.4 does not require engagement of an IVO or a covered audit as a condition of developing, deploying or operating an AI system.
G7 data-protection and privacy authorities → adopts contextual and privacy-preserving assurance guidance → G7 privacy limits on age assurance
2026-06-25 – 2026-06-26
Opposes identification/tracking/profiling/monitoring; not enforcement decision or verified safeguard.
5Rights Foundation → demands premarket certification beyond G7 outcome → 5Rights premarket certification demand
2026-06-17 – 2026-06-17
Proposed access condition, not adopted duty or evidence of industry-written clauses.
Iain Corby → committed to reviewing Parts B–J for consistency → Trial draft technical/vendor report review
Commitment recorded July8,2025; not evidence of completed review.
Minutes record intended technical/vendor-section review. Completion and conflict-specific limits were not established. The conflict register restricts his role to stakeholder engagement as well as excluding system testing and euCONSENT submission. The operative scope and actual work need the exclusion decision and signoffs; breach is not established.
Australian age-assurance trial → reported withholding detailed vendor sections during legal review → Trial stakeholder advisory board
Access described July8,2025; vendor responses requested by July18.
Reported by the cited source
SAB had A/B/K while vendors had their own extracts; identified review windows need draft/redline reconciliation.
A plausible Australian explanation is that Westpac financed technical capacity and the recipient chose programme and policy outputs under its own governance, subject to grant terms not yet recovered. The dated end of US control does not itself establish freedom from bank conditions.
Working assessment: Still open
Alternative explanation: The bank or another sponsor reserved and exercised a specific approval or policy condition; general support or vendor delivery decisions cannot establish that intervention.
A useful next test: Read actual membership/adoption resolutions, board approval/conflict records and signed grant conditions; compare them with published charter powers. Funding, self-governance and advisory access do not alone establish exercised donor direction.
Westpac → committed funding for data sharing → ICMEC Australia
FY21 original award description; FY24 extension reported; source terms not fully reconciled
AUD25m award; FY21 statement describes three-year grant for platform and analytical-tool design/build/deployment/maintenance. FY24 Modern Slavery Statement reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 report says six-year partnership. Exact agreement/amendment dates, cash schedule and grant rights unresolved. Same award, not additive amounts.
Financial details: value: 25,000,000; currency: AUD; kind: stated multi-year grant commitment; period: FY21 describes three years; FY24 reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 describes six-year programme; operative dates unavailable
International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US) → ceased sole membership and control → ICMEC Australia
2023-07-06
US2023 Note1 says no longer sole member; Note8 says no longer controls. Does not name new members or establish complete US membership withdrawal.
Lighthouse product owner — unnamed delivery role → reportedly made technical delivery decisions → Lighthouse
Undated vendor delivery account
Reported by the cited source
Delivery account identifies decision-making by an unnamed product owner. It does not identify budget approval, intelligence thresholds, bank action or policy clearance rights.