Detailed research note

Crisp, Resolver and the commercial implementation layer

Part of the research through 9 September 2026. This dated note preserves its original findings; later developments are discussed in the synthesis and linked profiles.

Bounded public-record investigation, 9 September 2026, following the taxonomy forest review. This packet separates legal control, brand integration, advertised services and an actual departmental spending entry. It does not establish that WEF participation produced a contract or that any regulator requires a Resolver product.

The decisive addition is a primary DSIT record of GBP 56,736 paid to Crisp Thinking (UK) Ltd on 5 February 2025, transaction 654609, within Security and Online Harms. This supplies a concrete government-to-supplier financial relation. It does not disclose the invoice, deliverables, classification rules or contract that generated that payment. Crisp's contribution to the 2023 typology, its later Resolver branding, and the 2025 payment must remain separate dated relations. [Official February dataset](http[local research file]

Date / entity What the primary record establishes Limit
Crisp Thinking Group Limited, 05636614 The current Crisp privacy policy names this company, trading as Crisp. Companies House identifies the same numbered company. A current privacy-policy controller is not automatically the signatory of every historic sales contract. [Policy](http[local research file] [register](http[local research file]
Crisp Thinking (UK) Limited, 06442193 Companies House records Crisp Thinking Group Ltd, 05636614, as the active corporate person with significant control, notified 6 April 2016, with 75% or more of shares. The displayed record does not establish an exact 100% holding or separately display voting-control rights. [UK company PSC record](http[local research file]
Crisp Thinking (US) Inc. The current Crisp policy identifies it as another group company, alongside Group Limited and UK Limited. US registration identifier, jurisdiction and equity chain were not independently established.
30 March 2022: Kroll / Resolver Kroll announces that it acquired Resolver; the subsequent Crisp announcement expressly calls the earlier target Resolver Inc. These are acquisition announcements, not share-purchase instruments. Price, exact buyer entity and acquired percentage are not disclosed in the inspected text. [Resolver acquisition announcement](http[local research file]
25 May 2022: Crisp Group control The register records Kroll International (UK) Limited, 09897805, notified on this date, with 75% or more of shares and voting rights. Registered notification date is distinct from the later public announcement. [Group PSC record](http[local research file]
31 May 2022: Kroll / Crisp announcement Kroll announces acquisition of Crisp and an intended combination of its real-time risk intelligence with the previously acquired Resolver software. Hildreth and Andrew Burke were to join Kroll's digital-services leadership. This identifies an announced integration mechanism, not a transaction value or a mandate to public bodies. [Crisp acquisition announcement](http[local research file]
29 December 2022: Crisp Group control changes Kroll International (UK) Limited is recorded as ceasing control; Kroll Advisory Ltd., 05568550, is the active recorded controller, notified that day, with 75% or more of shares and voting rights. This is the directly evidenced intermediate control chain. It does not establish ultimate ownership, exact percentages, consideration or the legal mechanism of the transfer.
19/20 March 2024: brand alignment Resolver's page is posted 19 March, while its body dateline is Toronto, 20 March. It says Crisp will operate under the Resolver banner and describes unification of brands, including Platform Trust & Safety and Brand Equity Protection. Preserve both displayed dates. This is not evidence of a new 2024 share acquisition. [Brand announcement](http[local research file]
Resolver Inc.: currently served contract form Resolver's terms identify Resolver Inc. and applicable affiliates; the customer is identified on an Order Form. The served version is 3.0, dated 20 August 2021. An unsigned standard form does not resolve the party to a particular Crisp or government engagement. Its Toronto notice address alone does not establish incorporation jurisdiction. [Terms, preamble and §§1, 5, 17](http[local research file]

Companies House expressly cautions that it does not check the accuracy of filed information. The control findings above are what its public record reports, rather than a beneficial-ownership audit. Do not replace the exact entities with an undifferentiated Kroll parent or treat the 2026 footer as evidence that Resolver Inc. authored or contracted for the 2023 workstream.

What is sold, and who sets operational instructions

Crisp's current policy describes collecting and indexing publicly available material for harm detection, channel moderation and crisis detection. It distinguishes acting as a processor on customer-owned channels from acting as a controller for its crisis-detection search/index. It describes algorithms and human experts, customer-specified automatic removal, escalation of more consequential cases, and ways to challenge decisions. These are the supplier's published descriptions, not an independent audit of deployment, data access or lawfulness. The policy supplies a concrete route from classification to operational action, but does not identify a WEF definition as binding on its customers. No policy revision date was established; its current text is not backdated to 2023. [Crisp policy, Our Services and automated-decision paragraphs](http[local research file]

The Resolver form explains how a specific purchase would become accountable: an Order Form and, where used, a Statement of Work specify services, responsibilities, deliverables and payment terms; written agreement governs changes. The missing executed order, SOW and processing instructions would therefore discriminate between general capability and the actual system a customer bought. [Resolver terms, §§1 and 5](http[local research file]

A separate 18 March 2026 announcement documents a collaboration between Resolver Trust & Safety and Illuminate Tech. Illuminate supplies OSCAR, a tool for translating online-safety requirements into compliance workflows; Resolver supplies harm assessment, intelligence, assurance and remediation expertise. The named market includes platforms facing UK OSA and EU DSA enforcement. The statement says joint industry engagement had begun. It describes Illuminate as founded by former Ofcom experts, but supplies neither an official endorsement nor a named purchaser, compulsory tool, contract value or WEF-related procurement decision. This is direct evidence of a commercial compliance offering and a supplier-reported collaboration. It is not an award. [Announcement, opening through joint-engagement paragraph](http[local research file]

A departmental payment, and a separate unverified award lead

The original February 2025 CSV contains one matching row in this file: data row 94, transaction 654609, payment date 05/02/2025, supplier Crisp Thinking (Uk) Ltd, amount 56736, supplier type Vendor. Expense type is Other Professional Services; expense area is DSIT's Digital and Technology Group / Security and Online Harms. The description assigns it to the Security Team NSOIT & Tech Programme. The supplier name matches the separately registered UK company, but this dataset supplies no company number. Record that cross-source identity matching rather than pretending the CSV itself contains 06442193.

The amount is GBP 56,736, published departmental payment, dated 5 February 2025. It is neither total contract value nor verified net revenue; VAT treatment, invoice period and exact purchased outputs are unestablished. No join to a particular 2023 award, WEF workstream, Australian duty or OSCAR deployment is supported. The collection was first published 29 January 2026 and last updated 30 July 2026; those publication dates are distinct from payment date. The update history says July added later months and does not establish a revision to this specific row. [Original CSV](http[local research file] [publisher and update history](http[local research file]

A separate secondary listing discovers an award called Mis/Disinformation Monitoring and Analysis, reference 103528, supplier abbreviated Crisp Thinking, award publication 27 September 2023, delivery 24 August 2023–31 March 2024, listed value GBP 350,960. It describes DCMS handling the notice for DSIT. These remain secondary-reported lead fields, not a primary-verified award or money paid. The actual notice is [Contracts Finder 47f6e657-8370-4133-98df-ee2f2194144e](http[local research file] its web reader failed and the one ordinary GET substitute returned HTTP 403. The route is closed. [Discovery listing](http[local research file]

A DCMS FOI response, dated 3 October 2025 and published 7 October, refused a broad request naming Crisp and many other suppliers under the cost limit. The request's list is not evidence of agreements held with every named company, and the refusal does not prove no agreement exists. It is excluded from positive procurement findings. [FOI2025/08916](http[local research file]

The join test and candidate relations

The previous packet establishes Hildreth's Crisp affiliation and workstream co-chair role through the participant's 24 August 2023 account. This packet establishes a control chain, a later brand change, advertised compliance services and an independently published departmental payment. Those relations can coexist without a causal procurement edge. [Dated typology account, opening](http[local research file] see the prior taxonomy-producers.md for its full reading scope.

Candidate ID Direction / type Stage and limit
commercial-e-group-uk Crisp Thinking Group Limited → Crisp Thinking (UK) Limited: recorded share control, ≥75% Registry report, notified 6 April 2016; exact percentage unknown.
commercial-e-kroll-international Kroll International (UK) Limited → Crisp Thinking Group Limited: recorded shares/votes ≥75% Notified 25 May 2022; ceased 29 December 2022.
commercial-e-kroll-advisory Kroll Advisory Ltd. → Crisp Thinking Group Limited: recorded shares/votes ≥75% Notified 29 December 2022; active in inspected register.
commercial-e-resolver-acquisition Kroll → Resolver: announced acquisition 30 March 2022; buyer legal entity and consideration not resolved.
commercial-e-crisp-acquisition Kroll → Crisp: announced acquisition and integration 31 May 2022; use the separate registry edges for exact entities and rights.
commercial-e-brand Crisp → Resolver: announced brand alignment Posted 19 March / datelined 20 March 2024; not a new share-purchase claim.
commercial-e-dsit-payment DSIT → Crisp Thinking (UK) Ltd: published supplier payment Amount object: currency GBP; value 56736; kind departmental payment; date 2025-02-05; VAT treatment unknown; transaction 654609. Identity matched by supplier name to register.
commercial-e-illuminate Resolver Trust & Safety ↔ Illuminate Tech: announced compliance-service collaboration 18 March 2026 participant statement; OSCAR creator is Illuminate; no procurement or regulatory approval edge.
commercial-e-service Crisp → customers: describes harm-monitoring/moderation services Current published policy and customer instructions; actual customer configuration not observed.

The strongest rival to a workstream-to-revenue causal account is an existing commercial provider contributing expertise to a voluntary taxonomy while independently selling services and later entering a government payment relationship. Its commercial interest is real and relevant. The acquired entities and payment make that interest more concrete, but a roster, chronology and payment cannot determine why a buyer selected it or which taxonomy governed the work.

The decisive missing records are an executed DSIT contract/SOW and invoice matching transaction 654609, supplier-selection or evaluation records, and any deliverable or contractual classification specification that expressly adopts the WEF typology. Likely holders are DSIT's finance/commercial and Security and Online Harms teams and the relevant Crisp contracting company. A public contract, invoice disclosure, evaluation report or published operating specification would reopen that test. No outreach is authorized or performed. The secondary 2023 notice is a locator for a future genuinely accessible primary record, not permission to retry a closed route.

Source scope and custody

Access date: 9 September 2026. Only the DSIT HTML and CSV original bytes were retained in this lane. Other listed sources were read through the primary web reader, not downloaded; no original hash is claimed for them. The prior WEF original-PDF and ACNC restrictions remain closed.

Source alias Exact locator / reading scope State
commercial-s-crisp-policy http[local research file] — identity paragraphs and complete Services section; reader turn951view1 lines 10–14, 104–151 Read current primary policy; undated revision.
commercial-s-psc-group http[local research file] — Kroll corporate entries, reader turn960view0 lines 27–81 Read register; original filed PSC forms not read.
commercial-s-psc-uk http[local research file] — current corporate entry, turn960view1 lines 26–51 Read register; no exact 100% inference.
commercial-s-acquire-resolver Kroll Resolver acquisition URL above; dated body, turn963view2 lines 6–18 Read company announcement.
commercial-s-acquire-crisp Kroll Crisp acquisition URL above; dated substantive body, turn954view0 Read company announcement.
commercial-s-brand Resolver brand announcement URL above; turn963view3 lines 5–19 Read company announcement; two displayed dates preserved.
commercial-s-terms Resolver terms URL above; preamble, §§1, 5, 15, 17; turn953view1/turn956view3 Read standard form, version 3.0 dated 20 August 2021; no executed agreement.
commercial-s-illuminate Resolver partnership URL above; turn963view1 lines 5–33 Read complete substantive announcement; no customer list audited.
commercial-s-dsit Official CSV/preview URLs above; header and complete matching row; preview turn961view0 line 62 and turn962view2 line 157; CSV data row 94 Read original CSV selected row; full bytes retained, other rows not substantively audited.
commercial-s-dsit-publisher DSIT 2025 spending collection above; turn963view0 lines 53–64, 146–187 Read title, publication/update metadata and explanation.
commercial-s-award-lead Contracts Finder notice above, discovered through Bidstats listing Primary inaccessible; web reader Internal Error, ordinary requests GET HTTPError 403. No original retained and no retry.
commercial-s-foi FOI2025/08916 above, request and response Read primary release; excluded as evidence of any specific contract held.

Original captures at 2026-09-09T08:56:13Z (start of capture operation):

Local file Bytes SHA-256
commercial-dsit-feb2025-preview.html 186361 f6d1e7955190b7099d6968efc0dd41a272e2c51eb15a259fe464b173e2033d53
commercial-dsit-feb2025.csv 43426 ee37e522067dcb3304a3e77857f5cb37f5c7d960b7898128a4b245d795f83391

The reader's Download CSV click returned Internal Error; the one ordinary publisher-HTML retrieval succeeded, exposed the actual download link, and the linked original CSV succeeded. This was an independent DSIT spending publication, not a substitute route around Contracts Finder's 403. No later month, historical funder roster or unrelated client hunt was opened after this substantive breakpoint. Return to whole-case forest assessment before another acquisition run.