Turning bank-supported resources into investigative data infrastructure

ICMEC Australia

ICMEC Australia connects child-protection work with financial-sector data and investigation. Westpac committed AUD25 million to support the development of a data-sharing platform and analytical tools, and the organization operates Lighthouse alongside a financial-industry partnership with published participation rules.

ICMEC Australia is a child-protection organization with a substantial financial-sector programme. Established as an affiliate of the US International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children, it later became independently governed: the US accounts say sole membership and control ended in July 2023. That change matters when identifying who now approves strategy, partnerships and material programmes in the Australian organization.

Westpac committed AUD25 million to support data sharing and the design, development, deployment and maintenance of analytical tools. Later reporting described an extension of the partnership. This is a significant instance of bank resources being directed toward continuing investigative capability. The commitment supports an organizational and technical programme, rather than merely a public awareness message.

Lighthouse is the practical application at the center of that work. Published material describes searches, analytics and links involving suspected child-exploitation data for financial-services and law-enforcement workflows. A vendor account describes continuing product support and knowledge transfer intended to let ICMEC Australia sustain and extend the platform. A dated programme also describes use restricted to Australian soil. The system brings data and specialist investigation closer together across organizational boundaries.

ICMEC Australia administers participation in its financial-sector coalition and helps guide projects with members. Its board charter reserves approval of strategy, budgets, major partnerships and material programmes, with delegation to management. Those powers identify the institution making decisions about the operation. Its importance in the wider network is the conversion of funding into a reusable capacity: people, partnerships and software that can help financial institutions investigate suspected exploitation and decide what action to take.

Assessment updated 2026-09-12

Detailed records and research

What the records show

WestpacICMEC Australia

committed funding for data sharing

FY21 original award description; FY24 extension reported; source terms not fully reconciled

AUD25m award; FY21 statement describes three-year grant for platform and analytical-tool design/build/deployment/maintenance. FY24 Modern Slavery Statement reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 report says six-year partnership. Exact agreement/amendment dates, cash schedule and grant rights unresolved. Same award, not additive amounts. Financial details: value: 25,000,000; currency: AUD; kind: stated multi-year grant commitment; period: FY21 describes three years; FY24 reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 describes six-year programme; operative dates unavailable

International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US)ICMEC Australia

reports a related-corporation characterization of

2023 calendar-year return signed 6 December 2024; no inferred effective date for Australian membership rights

Schedule R Part IV Australia row reports ICMEC as direct controlling entity, C CORP tax class, 100% ownership and controlled Yes. These are reported tax characterizations, not independently established continuing control after 6 July 2023. Inclusion can reflect an any-time relationship; percentage ownership uses the related entity tax-year end. Applicable Australian tax period and supporting basis remain unresolved. Original is a publisher-hosted signed public copy; IRS receipt or acceptance was not independently read.

International Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US)ICMEC Australia

reported transaction in services, membership or fundraising category with

US 2023 calendar-year return; individual transaction dates not disclosed

Schedule R Part V Australia row is type L, USD 868,571, method FMV; D/E loan categories are No. IRS measurement can use value provided or received, whichever higher. No inference of cash direction, loan, grant, specific service or donor/project allocation. Financial details: value: 868,571; currency: USD; kind: reported fair market value transaction amount; period: 2023 tax year

ICMEC AustraliaLighthouse

stated Australian-soil use restriction

Stated in 30 October 2024 event programme

The dated programme states use is restricted to Australian soil. It separately limits the introductory session to specified Australian regulators, financial/CSE professionals, banks/remitters and child-protection law enforcement. It does not establish current licence terms, access enforcement or actual participants.

ICMEC AustraliaSaferAI for Children

sets participation and guides projects

Circulated January2026

Terms assign ICMEC Australia membership/partnership determination and project guidance in collaboration with members; removal discretion applies to listed breaches. This is formal capacity, not proof of a particular exercised publication veto.

GRF CPAs & AdvisorsICMEC Australia

reports receipt of component auditor financial statements and reports for

Period ended6July2023;US audit report30January2025

US auditor report PDF3/printed2 identifies Australian period ended6July2023 and says component auditors reports furnished. Names GRF in header, not Australian component auditor.

ICMEC Australia boardICMEC Australia

approves strategy budgets major partnerships and material programs for

Charter expressly adopted/effective6December2023; retrieved September2026

Charter2.1–2.3,4.2 reserves concrete approvals and management delegation. Does not prove any specified research paper or grant was approved by a named participant.

ICMEC AustraliaAustralia deconsolidation · 6July2023

balances removed from US consolidated statements

2023-07-06

Net asset accounting event, not payout, grant or bank transfer. Exact table and restriction-class entry on event node; no donor-specific receivable assignment.

From the investigation

Who contributed, and who approved?

The original Nov2024 paper remains attributed to contemporary ICMEC Australia. This lane does not reinterpret its authorship using a later business-name change or retrospectively treat the international ICMEC organisation as publisher.

Read the research & sources ↗
SaferAI policy output: what was proposed, and where it was used

Selected output: AI and Child Protection: A Collaborative Approach to a Safer Future , the SaferAI for Children Coalition's discussion paper publicised by ICMEC Australia on 26 November 2024. Acquisition/read: 8 September 2026 local time. This lane did not edit the canonical case. The 2025 call to action was read as a bounded comparison, not expanded into a second campaign.

Read the research & sources ↗
ICMEC counterparts: money, participation and an observed drafting step

ICMEC Australia's own current account says it began as an affiliate in late2021 and now operates independently, with its own governance. It also describes foundational funding ending and a search for ongoing sponsors and project support. That creates a specific renewal/dependence question. It does not establish that the Australian and international organisations have common current command. The transition instrument remains missing.

Read the research & sources ↗
Research funding and the monitoring proposal

The new mechanism is resource support plus named advisory access to a published recommendation. Childlight Searchlight2025 Study C (PDF31–32, printed23–24) credits Westpac funding and names a committee including Westpac's Mark Dickson and ICMEC Australia's Danielle Kelly. It recommends broader financial monitoring and cross-sector sharing. This is a published recommendation, not a demonstrated detection system or bank decision. The report acknowledges panel recruitment, self-report and legal-category limitations; no base-rate calibration or operational validation was recovered in the inspected material.

Read the research & sources ↗

Further reading

Research funding and the monitoring proposal

Australian governance: the board has published decision rights; the July 2023 votes remain unidentified

Membership and US tax-return seam — 8 September 2026

Australian financial/legal lane: a dated separation, an extended grant, and the remaining instrument gap

Lighthouse: the application, its operating support and the missing decision record

SaferAI policy output: what was proposed, and where it was used

ICMEC counterparts: money, participation and an observed drafting step

Read the original sources 21

What the connections say

17 relationships
1

ICMEC Australiawas established as an affiliate ofInternational Centre for Missing & Exploited Children (US)

November2020 legal creation; late2021 operational-establishment account; US sole-membership/control ceased6July2023

Reported by the cited source

Australian legal company createdNovember2020; operational origins described as late2021. US2023 audit says US was no longer sole member and no longer controlled Australia from6July2023. Current AU self-description says independent; not evidence US withdrew from all membership.

Read the original sources 4
2

Westpaccommitted funding for data sharingICMEC Australia

FY21 original award description; FY24 extension reported; source terms not fully reconciled

AUD25m award; FY21 statement describes three-year grant for platform and analytical-tool design/build/deployment/maintenance. FY24 Modern Slavery Statement reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 report says six-year partnership. Exact agreement/amendment dates, cash schedule and grant rights unresolved. Same award, not additive amounts.

Financial details: value: 25,000,000; currency: AUD; kind: stated multi-year grant commitment; period: FY21 describes three years; FY24 reports two-year extension; SCSC2024 describes six-year programme; operative dates unavailable

Read the original sources 4
3

ICMEC Australiaoperates investigative data applicationLighthouse

2024-25report

Reported by the cited source

Report describes an operational application for searching suspected-CSEA data, analytics and links for financial-services and law-enforcement workflows. Data-provider contracts, user access and account-action records are not disclosed.

Read the original source 1
4

ICMEC Australiasets participation and guides projectsSaferAI for Children

Circulated January2026

Terms assign ICMEC Australia membership/partnership determination and project guidance in collaboration with members; removal discretion applies to listed breaches. This is formal capacity, not proof of a particular exercised publication veto.

Read the original source 1
10

Mikaela Jagois listed as Senior Capacity and Prevention Coordinator byICMEC Australia

2024-25 report, published2025

Reported by the cited source

2024-25 impact report printed35/PDF18 staff panel. This contemporary role makes a plausible production-record custodian, but does not prove 2024 writing/approval authority.

Read the original source 1
11

ICMEC Australiareportedly engaged ongoing Product Care supportKablamo

Post-launch; calendar dates unavailable

Reported by the cited source

Vendor reports annually renewed support after launch, including patching and incident response. No amount, payment or signed renewal instrument recovered. The same vendor describes a twelve-month knowledge-transfer programme intended to let ICMEC sustain and extend the platform independently; this also remains vendor-attributed.

Read the original source 1
12

ICMEC Australiastated Australian-soil use restrictionLighthouse

Stated in 30 October 2024 event programme

The dated programme states use is restricted to Australian soil. It separately limits the introductory session to specified Australian regulators, financial/CSE professionals, banks/remitters and child-protection law enforcement. It does not establish current licence terms, access enforcement or actual participants.

Read the original source 1