Trial-consortium and certification identity linking government testing with a commercial assurance market

ACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrella

ACCS is the historical brand and scheme umbrella used in records of Australia's government-commissioned Age Assurance Technology Trial and related certification work. The case separately identifies AVID Certification Services Limited and Age Check Certification Scheme Ltd as legal persons; earlier brand-level statements should not automatically be reassigned between them.

Award, delivery and later policy citation

A departmental briefing identifies the 8 November 2024 award CN4111198 at A$3,830,277, announced on 15 November. This is contract value, not payments received; the complete contract and tax schedule were not acquired. The ACCS-led consortium delivered the 2024–25 trial and disclosed commercial testing and certification services to age-assurance firms, with participation open beyond its clients. A later 5Rights consultation response cited ACCS technical requirements as an example while recommending that Ofcom consider certification. That is a policy citation, not a new procurement or certification mandate.

What the records show

Australian infrastructure departmentACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrella

Awarded trial procurement

2024-11-15 announcement

Departmental tender announcement and original September24,2025 briefing identify ACCS's November8,2024 award CN4111198 at A$3,830,277. This is contract value, not payments received; complete contract and tax schedule unrecovered. Financial details: value: 3,830,277; currency: AUD; kind: contract value; period: Awarded November8,2024; June30,2025 end appears in indexed register; tax basis: Not specified in inspected briefing; GST-inclusive header only indexed in FOI26-176

5Rights standards/certification proposal · October 2025ACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrella

cited technical requirements as certification example

Document labelled October 2025.

The 5Rights response cited ACCS's 2021 Technical Requirements for Age Check Systems while recommending Ofcom consider certification. It also cited certification against a 5Rights-led standard.

ACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrellaProject DefAI

Project delivery

2024–25 register

AVPA and ACCS identified as Project DefAI delivery organisations.

Further reading

Australia trial: objections, revisions and review authority

Baseline evidence custody

UK age assurance: specific advocacy contributions and decisions

Read the original sources 4

What the connections say

4 relationships
1

Australian infrastructure departmentAwarded trial procurementACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrella

2024-11-15 announcement

Departmental tender announcement and original September24,2025 briefing identify ACCS's November8,2024 award CN4111198 at A$3,830,277. This is contract value, not payments received; complete contract and tax schedule unrecovered.

Financial details: value: 3,830,277; currency: AUD; kind: contract value; period: Awarded November8,2024; June30,2025 end appears in indexed register; tax basis: Not specified in inspected briefing; GST-inclusive header only indexed in FOI26-176

Read the original sources 2
4

5Rights standards/certification proposal · October 2025cited technical requirements as certification exampleACCS · historical brand / scheme umbrella

Document labelled October 2025.

The 5Rights response cited ACCS's 2021 Technical Requirements for Age Check Systems while recommending Ofcom consider certification. It also cited certification against a 5Rights-led standard.

An explicit standards/certification reference; not a procurement or financial relationship between 5Rights and ACCS.

Read the original source 1